Easily set up Facebook to automatically hide and delete comments

As one of the largest traffic platforms for overseas marketing, Facebook is a market that many cross-border sellers are competing for, hoping to promote their products or services through this global platform. In this highly competitive market, any negative comments or inappropriate remarks on your brand page may affect your brand image and even conversion rate.

This blog will teach you how to set up effective comment management on Facebook and protect your brand reputation. Whether it is to clear up misunderstandings, respond to questions, or simply interact with users, the right comment management strategy is crucial.

 

How Facebook manages comments

Hide Comments

1. Find the post on your personal homepage whose comments you want to hide.

2. Tap the three dots next to the comment, then tap Hide Comment.

 

Unhide Comments

1. Find the post where you want to unhide comments.

2. Then take any of the following actions:

  • Click Unhide below the comment.
  • Click on the three dots next to a comment, then click Unhide Comment.

 

After you hide a comment, you can also report it if it violates the Facebook Community Standards .

 

Delete a comment

1. Find the comments on the personal homepage post that have been deleted

2. Click on the three dots to the right of the comment you want to delete.

3. Select Delete.

 

If you still want to block this user after deleting, you can go directly to the personal homepage or public homepage where the comment was posted to block the relevant personal homepage or public homepage .

 

The difference between hiding and deleting comments on Facebook

Hide the intention of the comment

Hiding comments is a subtle way to manage comments. When you hide a comment, it is only visible to the user who posted it and their friends . Other users cannot see the comment (only comments under your own posts). The user whose comment is hidden will not see the comment hidden.

This option is intended to avoid direct conflict with users. If the comment does not constitute an offense, directly deleting the comment may cause some controversy or negative emotions.

Usage scenario: A user may make some subjective negative comments. This comment does not violate the community guidelines, but other users may have some bad opinions about the product after reading it. Therefore, hiding this comment is conducive to maintaining the good image of the product and reducing the occurrence of conflicts.

 

Intention to delete comment

Deleting comments means directly deleting other people's comments. The comment will completely disappear from the post and no one can see it (including the person who posted the comment) . Usually for comments that violate community guidelines, these comments may also cause your posts and accounts to be banned, so if you encounter these comments, you should delete them in time.

Usage scenario: If the comments contain offensive speech, spam, explicit speech, and other non-compliant content, in order to maintain an inclusive and respectful discussion environment, such comments need to be deleted as soon as possible to maintain the security of the post and account. If necessary, the comment can also be reported and the user can be blocked.

 

Setting up automated comment management on Facebook

In actual work, it is very time-consuming and energy-consuming to keep an eye on Facebook comments. Moreover, Facebook users come from many countries and live in different time zones. It is impossible to keep an eye on Facebook comments 24/7. Therefore, if you want to ensure that Facebook has a clean comment area environment in real time, you need to enable automatic comment management.

 

1. First, authorize your Facebook account in SaleSmartly and click on the robot icon in the left menu bar.

Find the Facebook post comments channel in automation and directly select the preset template for processing post comments.

 

2. Select fuzzy matching (which means that the action will be triggered as long as the message contains keywords), then enter keywords or directly import related vocabulary.

 

3. Choose how to handle Facebook comments. You can choose to like/hide/delete comments. If necessary, you can also automatically send private messages to customers for further operation and maintenance.

 

common problem

How to deal with accidentally deleted or hidden Facebook comments?

If you accidentally hide a comment, you can undo the action directly next to the comment. Deleted comments cannot be restored, so if they do not violate the community guidelines, consider apologizing to the user and explaining the situation.

 

Will users know if their comments are hidden or deleted?

After a comment is hidden, the user who posted it and their friends can still see it, but no one else can see it. Users will not be notified that their comment has been hidden. If a comment is deleted, there will be no notification unless the user checks their comments themselves.

Share this Article
Last modified: 2024-05-10Powered by